Week in Review

3/23/2018: Recap

adventure
Adventure by Nick Youngson CC BY-SA 3.0 Alpha Stock Images

This week was full of adventure!

I rescued a damsel in distress from two ice monsters (I shoveled the snow off the driveway and dusted off two cars for my wife.)

I quested for supplies (milk run as the latest Nor’Easter was starting up.)

And I looted treasure (taxes are done.)

Additionally I read several good books. These were Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley and Beacon 23 by Hugh Howey.

Seconds is graphic novel following a chef after she discovers a means for repairing mistakes she had previously made. I loved the artwork and the plot easily hooked me for the wild ride that followed. Which was a charming and deep exploration on what it means to correct our regrets.

Beacon 23 is the story of a damaged man running a lighthouse in outer space for interstellar craft so they can maneuver through the nearby asteroid field. Mr Howey builds a very interesting universe over the course of the book. The characters feel real, with side characters that are as interesting as the main character. Once I picked it up I couldn’t put it down until I wrapped it up.

I wish you happy adventuring!

 

Leave a comment